Roasted Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Lasagna

I don’t own a TV. This is relevant I promise.

IMG_1082.jpg

My parents are modern-day-hippies (still relevant). You know, the kind that inhabit most of San Francisco… Hippies who shower as a friend once described them, and they didn’t really believe in watching television. As a result I still, to this day, don’t really spend that much time sitting in front of the TV flipping channels. I mean I watch a lot of stuff on Netflix, and I do have a Glee addiction (I was a musical theatre kid in high school, it speaks to me), but when I moved a few weeks ago and went on a furniture buying frenzy, a TV was not on my list of things to purchase.

So as a result of being raised more or less under a rock, I miss a lot of references, and I’ve been forced to come up with time-wasters other than television. My personal favourite? Scouring the internet for recipes.

IMG_1063.jpg

The result? I have a bookmarks folder, that’s getting a bit out of control, filled with recipes to make. Seriously, it’s a bit ridiculous.

This one in particular has been sitting in there for about a month since I saw it on How Sweet It Is. I just needed an excuse. You see, most nights, dinner involves throwing a ton of vegetables together covering it in TJ’s Goddess dressing (which you should go out and buy immediately if you don’t already own it) and calling it a day. Sometimes I get ambitious and cook up some tofu with vegetables, and rice and call it stir-fry.

When I get really lazy I microwave a tortilla with cheese and call it a quesadilla. I can’t believe I just admitted that on the internet. Please don’t judge me.

So when my friend invited me over for dinner I offered to bring lasagna and leftover cake because what kind of a person would I be if I didn’t bring cake?

IMG_1072.jpg

And this lasagna recipe? Well it is kind of amazing. I mean it has mascarpone, garlic, and shallots…

IMG_1068.jpg

Roasted sweet potato and butternut squash covered in olive-oil and salt, pepper, and a light dusting of nutmeg.

IMG_1075.jpg

And browned butter. Have you ever browned butter? Not only does it make your entire home (well my 500 square foot apartment at any rate) smell like a caramel factory, it adds an indescribable depth of flavour to anything you make.

IMG_1076.jpg

Did I mention the shallots and garlic get caramelized in the butter as it browns?

IMG_1073.jpg

Yeah…

IMG_1077.jpg

Did I mention that in addition to the creamy mascarpone filling, and the smooth mashed roasted vegetables, you also get to add 1.5 cups of parmesan cheese and 2 cups of mozzarella to this thing?

Before you ask, yes, the final results were worth every penny I spent on expensive cheese. In my defence, my family is French. Overspending on food, and cheese in particular pretty much comes with the territory.

IMG_1090.jpg

So I forgot to get pictures of the final thing, since I finished baking it at my friend’s place so we’d have that perfectly gooey slightly crispy top-layer that, let’s face it, is the reason why people eat lasagna. Plus, isn’t exactly photogenic once it has been put together, which I suspect is the reason it is a dish that doesn’t show up on food blogs all that often. Which is a sad thing because this lasagna in particular is one of the best non-baked good things I have ever made.

So do yourself a favour and make this for dinner. Tonight, tomorrow, next week, I don’t care. Just do it.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Roasted Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Lasagna

  1. You need to just start pinning all of your bookmarked recipes on Pinterest! I am in love with it. I also use Delicious to bookmark. It’s saved my favorites.

    Oh, and I want this lasagna. And leftover cake.

    • Mai

      I do use pinterest, but sometimes I forget to pin things and bookmark out of habit.

      There is lasagna and leftover cake waiting for you. I’m a short flight away.

  2. I need to jump on the browned butter bandwagon.

Leave a Reply

